Guide

How much does it cost to create Apple Wallet passes?

Creating an Apple Wallet pass can cost nothing, $99 a year, or a few hundred dollars a month - it depends on whether the pass is for you or your customers, whether you build it yourself, and how the platform you pick charges. This guide puts real numbers on each route, with Google Wallet included.

Last updated November 5, 2026. Facts about Apple Wallet and Google Wallet were checked against Apple’s and Google’s own documentation, linked in the sources.

The short answer

Free: passes for yourself

If you just want your own gym, library or store card on your phone, Apple Wallet on iOS 27 can create a pass from the card’s barcode or QR code, and Google Wallet in the US can do the same from a photo. These passes are snapshots: they don’t update, and the business didn’t issue them. For the full steps, see free options for personal cards.

Building passes yourself

A business can issue its own passes without a platform. The costs are:

Google charges nothing to issue Google Wallet passes. If you have developers and a large programme, building it yourself can be the cheapest per pass; for most businesses the development time costs far more than a platform. Our guide to the .pkpass file format shows what’s involved.

How pass platforms charge

Flat plan

One price with a set number of passes included. WalletPassBuilder: $49 a month or $490 a year with 1,000 pass credits; more credits from $100 per 1,000 down to $40 per 1,000. A credit is used once per pass, and updates don’t use credits.

Platform fee plus a fee per pass, every month

PassKit charges a platform fee by team size (from $39.50 a month for one person) with 250 long-life and 250 single-use passes included, then a tiered fee per pass. Long-life passes like loyalty cards are billed every month you keep them.

A fee per saved pass, every month

Passcreator is free for 5 passes saved to a phone, then charges per saved pass each month - about $55 a month for 500 and $160 for 2,000, excluding VAT.

Credits per action

Pass2U sells credits: 3 to issue a pass, 10 for a punch card, 3 for each update, with 8,000 credits for $50. A Monthly Premium plan per pass design ($39 or $79 a month) makes updates unlimited.

A fee per design plus per active pass

PassNinja charges $21 a month per pass template plus $0.11 a month per installed pass.

Plans by templates and total passes

PassEntry prices in pounds: the Pilot plan is £199 a month, or £167 billed annually, for one template and 500 passes in total, and Custom plans for more start at £200 a month, excluding VAT.

What 500 and 2,000 cards cost

The first year of a loyalty card programme on each platform, from its published prices: one pass design, one team member, all cards issued at the start and kept for the year, annual billing where offered. US dollars except where marked £, excluding VAT.

Platform500 cards2,000 cardsApple Wallet setup
WalletPassBuilder$490$590Handled for you
Pass2UAbout $520About $570Not stated
PassKitAbout $710About $1,520Your own account - $99 included in totals
PasscreatorAbout $760About $2,020Your own account - $99 included in totals
PassNinjaAbout $910About $2,890Its certificate to start
PassEntryAbout £2,000From £2,400Not stated

For side-by-side details on each platform, see WalletPassBuilder compared and PassKit alternatives.

Costs people miss

The cheapest option for you

If you…Cheapest route
Want your own card on your phoneApple Wallet or Google Wallet’s built-in pass creation, free
Issue a handful of passesA free plan, such as Passcreator’s
Send one-off passes that never changePass2U’s credits
Run loyalty cards or memberships on both walletsWalletPassBuilder or Pass2U
Issue tens of thousands of passes with your own developersPassKit’s volume rates, or building it yourself

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to create an Apple Wallet pass?+

A pass for your own use is free: Apple Wallet on iOS 27 can create one from a card’s barcode. A business issuing passes either builds them itself - Apple’s developer program is $99 a year, plus the development and hosting - or uses a pass platform, which costs from nothing for a handful of passes to a few hundred dollars a month. WalletPassBuilder is $49 a month or $490 a year with 1,000 pass credits and Apple Wallet setup included.

What is the cheapest way to create Apple Wallet passes for customers?+

It depends on the passes. For a handful of passes, Passcreator’s free plan can cost nothing. For one-off passes that never change, Pass2U’s credits are very cheap. For loyalty cards or memberships that update on both Apple Wallet and Google Wallet, WalletPassBuilder’s $490 a year with 1,000 pass credits and free updates is among the lowest totals, with Apple Wallet setup handled for you.

Does Apple charge per pass?+

No. Apple doesn’t charge per pass issued or saved. Issuing passes yourself needs an Apple Developer Program membership, which costs $99 a year; pass platforms either use their own certificate or ask you to bring yours.

Is Google Wallet free for businesses?+

Google doesn’t charge to issue or save Google Wallet passes, and doesn’t need a paid developer program. You do need a Google Wallet issuer account and an integration with the Google Wallet API, or a pass platform that provides them.

Do I need an Apple developer account to create passes?+

If you build passes yourself, yes, and some platforms, such as PassKit and Passcreator, issue passes under your own account. On WalletPassBuilder, Apple Wallet setup is handled for you, and you can add your own Pass Type ID if you want passes under your own developer account.

Sources

Apple’s newer developer pages load dynamically, so where a number comes from Apple it is taken from its Wallet Developer Guide and support pages. If Apple’s or Google’s current documentation differs, follow theirs.

Be on the lock screen in a few minutes.

Your first pass is quick to make. Pick a template, add your logo, and share the link.